The Geek Emporium

The Great Geek Revolution is NOW!

Big Plans for The Geek Emporium

Since coming on board with the RPGBloggers network, I’ve seen what so many great blogs have done.  Truly, the day to day coverage of GenCon was great, and frankly I was jealous.  Further, the Chatty DM…if you haven’t read his blog yet, go check it out…I’ll wait….you’re back?  Good huh?  Told ya!  Anways…the Chatty One has jumped off the cliff, as he put it, to start his putting out his own modules.  The first one, Kobold Love, looks great so far.  I can’t wait to see what else comes out of his work there.  Well, Chatty has inspired me as well to sort of “jump off a cliff” so to speak.

When The Geek Emporium first started, I dreamed of a clearing house of a variety of geek subjects.  Everything from anime, science fiction and fantasy film and literature, computer related items, and of course, role play.  In short, I wanted geeks from around the country, if not the world, to come here for their information on all things “geek”.  Granted, that may be a bit lofty, but especially for so recent a blog, but I’ve always believed that I should go big, or go home and I damn sure don’t feel like going home.

So, with that in mind, I’ve officially registered the domain name thegeekemporium.com and will begin the process of getting a blog set up over there.  In time, this blog will serve primarily as an archive only, with all the new posts sitting over on the new site.  Also, I don’t pretend to know everything about geek culture, despite my lifetime as part of it.  I plan on recruiting others to take on areas that I’m not an expert in like video games.  I love them, but I suck at them, so obviously this would be a case of bringing in new blood to help out.

One of my goals for this new site is that it will put us in a position to finance trips to places like PAX and DragonCon (which wouldn’t actually take that much…I live in GA after all) so I could publish daily accounts of what’s going on there.  As such, the model for The Geek Emporium will have to change.  There will be advertising, though I hope to keep it to a minimum.  There will also hopefully be an Amazon affiliate store to help generate revenue.  In time, I hope to offer our own t-shirts for sale (all with appropriate slogans for those of our ilk!).  Perhaps if there is sufficient interest and it can be done legally, I’ll offer print versions of The Burned Lands for sale.  I doubt there will be, but who knows.

Of course, I’m not expecting to make a living on this.  In fact, breaking even with the cost of the new site and hosting would be sufficient for me, so don’t think I’m getting greedy.  I’ve got a good job as a contractor with the military that requires very little work.  I’d be crazy to give that up! 😉  Instead, I want to be in a position to provide better content, like reviews of new RPGs, new video games, DVDs, movies, maybe even gadgets.

Now, what will change immediately?  Nothing.  So far, the site has only been paid for and the hosting as well.  There is absolutely nothing uploaded.  In all honestly, we’re probably looking at months of work to get it up and ready to run for just the blog.  But don’t worry.  There will be posts letting everyone know about the status of the new site as new information becomes available, and there will be plenty of warning before the official switch.

I sincerely hope you all will stick with us through this, and hope everyone will enjoy the new site and the information contained there more than this blog!  This isn’t about anything but trying to provide the best content we can!

September 5, 2008 - Posted by | RPG |

6 Comments »

  1. […] Original post by The Geek Emporium […]

    Pingback by New Gadgets | Big Plans for The Geek Emporium | September 5, 2008 | Reply

  2. Bold idea, man…I’d love to contribute to the project however I can…I’m a fairly recent start in the blogosphere as well, over at The Book Of Rev…toss me an email if you’re interested…

    Comment by Reverend Mike | September 5, 2008 | Reply

  3. Congratulations on getting your own domain!

    Looking forward to your own ‘cliff jumping’!

    Comment by Questing GM | September 5, 2008 | Reply

  4. Dude! Getting your own domain is the 1 step to web fame.

    I’m happy I helped nudge you a bit to chose your cliff and take a jump!

    Comment by The Chatty DM | September 6, 2008 | Reply

  5. Monetising blogs is a slow business. You really need to push both the blog and the adverts to make decent money from them.

    Comment by bobzilla76 | September 6, 2008 | Reply

  6. @Rev Mike: I appreciate the offer. I’ll probably take you up on that one 🙂

    @Questing GM: Thanks! This is actually the first time I’ve ever gotten my own domain for anything, so that alone is a big step. As for hosting, I probably got way more than I need, but who cares…I didn’t want to have to upgrade down the road, and it’s not really that expensive either way.

    @Chatty: Thanks! I was looking at this anyways, but your report from GenCon about how the industry views blogs, and then you taking your own leap, definitely pushed me that direction. And, with reveal over at RPGCentric getting some response on his adventure proposal, I didn’t want to get left behind 😉

    @bobzilla76: I understand completely. Advertising is really an early and minor source of revenue. I’m really hoping to sell products as the primary source of revenue. Luckily, I’m in no rush. I made it a point to set things up where I can pay them indefinitely out of my own pocket (with my current income) regardless of revenue. I appreciate the input though, seriously. I sure don’t want to get to far ahead of myself 🙂

    @All: Thank you all for the support! I was really concerned that this would get met with some kind of negativity and I’ve seen none. This alone is huge for me. Thank you all. You guys are the best!

    Comment by Tom | September 6, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

