The Geek Emporium

The Great Geek Revolution is NOW!

Review: The Sarah Conner Chronicles

After missing the first couple of minutes of the show due to circumstances beyond my control (read as my son’s cub scout meeting), I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to give a good review of the season premire of the Fox TV series.  Unfortunately, I’m afraid that I actually can.

First, let me tell you that I’m a big fan of the Terminator series of films.  The upcoming one with Christian Bale as John Conner has gotten me excited in a way that few movies can.  So, when Fox announced the show’s premire last season, I was happy.  When I found out that Summer Glau was staring as the terminator sent to protect John Conner, I was stoked!  Come on!  River Tam with an endoskeleton!  What’s not to like.  I watched a few episodes last season, and liked what I saw, but things came up and I stopped watching.

After tonight’s episode, I’ll stop watching again.  The only scene with any quality acting was Glau’s character begging for her life, while Sarah and John’s performers were less than stellar.  One surprise was the quality of Brian Austin Green’s performance.  Generally, I tend to frown whenever a former star from Beverly Hills, 90210 comes on the screen, but Green’s hardass portrayal of Kyle Reese’s (played by Michael Biehn in the original film) brother Derek has been a real bright spot on this less than stellar show.  In truth, I found him far more interesting than Dekker’s John Conner or Headey’s Sarah Conner.  Unfortunately, Fox hasn’t expressed any interest in giving him his own show.

While the episode may not be indicitive of the season as a whole, I wouldn’t devote time on a Monday night to watch it if you have something better today.  Luckily, Fox has full episodes available for viewing on it’s website instead.

September 8, 2008 - Posted by | Television |

2 Comments »

  1. Agreed…

    Definitely didn’t like how last season’s ending ultimately didn’t change anything…other than toss a one-episode problem at the protagonists that was fixed through John’s stubbornness…

    Though I suppose you can’t make Summer Glau a bad guy…no matter how hard you try…

    Comment by Reverend Mike | September 9, 2008 | Reply

  2. Very true. While there was some foreshadowing of future problems with the FBI agent, it wasn’t anything new. After all, they could have used the two-parter to launch the hook for the whole season. Instead, it was a “meh, let’s do the same old thing”.

    Of course, making Summer Glau the bad guy wouldn’t like you said. River Tam ain’t nobody’s bad guy 😉

    Comment by Tom | September 9, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

